jamjam jamjam - 3 months ago 27
Javascript Question

Formatting ISODate from Mongodb

In Mongodb I am storing date and time in ISODate format.

Which looks like this

ISODate("2012-07-14T01:00:00+01:00")


Using nodejs/javascript, how can I display the time component so I would get something like this

Time : 01:00


I am using momentjs to make this easier but from what I can tell momentjs does seem to support the ISODate format.

Thanks for you help.

Answer

JavaScript's Date object supports the ISO date format, so as long as you have access to the date string, you can do something like this:

> foo = new Date("2012-07-14T01:00:00+01:00")
Sat, 14 Jul 2012 00:00:00 GMT
> foo.toTimeString()
'17:00:00 GMT-0700 (MST)'

If you want the time string without the seconds and the time zone then you can call the getHours() and getMinutes() methods on the Date object and format the time yourself.

Comments