So after much time trying online solutions and asking collegues, I finally found the reason my Settings.settings wouldn't safe the settings I configured in my program:
When I changed
You need to call
Settings.Upgrade() only once when you start the new version application otherwise you are continuously overwriting the settings from the old version.
You should add a flag in your
user.config that you set when you call