Albert Albert - 2 months ago 26x
Git Question

Rename master branch for both local and remote Git repositories

I have the branch

which tracks the remote branch

I want to rename them to
both locally and on the remote. Is that possible? For other users who tracked
(and who always updated their local
branch via
git pull
), what would happen after I renamed the remote branch? Would their
git pull
still work or would it throw an error that it couldn't find

Then, further on, I want to create a new
branch (both locally and remote). Again, after I did this, what would happen now if the other users do
git pull

I guess all this would result in a lot of trouble. Is there a clean way to get what I want? Or should I just leave
as it is and create a new branch
and just work there further on?


The closest thing to renaming is deleting and then re-creating on the remote. For example:

git branch -m master master-old
git push remote :master         # delete master
git push remote master-old      # create master-old on remote

git checkout -b master some-ref # create a new local master
git push remote master          # create master on remote

However this has a lot of caveats. First, no existing checkouts will know about the rename - git does not attempt to track branch renames. If the new master doesn't exist yet, git pull will error out. If the new master has been created. the pull will attempt to merge master and master-old. So it's generally a bad idea unless you have the cooperation of everyone who has checked out the repository previously.

Note: Newer versions of git will not allow you to delete the master branch remotely by default. You can override this by setting the receive.denyDeleteCurrent configuration value to warn or ignore on the remote repository. Otherwise, if you're ready to create a new master right away, skip the git push remote :master step, and pass --force to the git push remote master step. Note that if you're not able to change the remote's configuration, you won't be able to completely delete the master branch!

This caveat only applies to the current branch (usually the master branch); any other branch can be deleted and recreated as above.