I'm a git novice, but I've been able to create a bare remote repository on a shared drive so it can be shared with co-workers. I created a
git pull origin master
git reset --hard origin/master
When you delete a "committed" file locally, git on your machine tracks it as a change. So,
git pull will not overwrite your local changes unless you ask it to.
You can try by running the command
git status after you have deleted, before you pull and after you pull.
If you want to reset your local repository with remote repository, the command you are looking for is
git reset --hard HEAD
I would also recommend this awesome thread to help you get started with git