I have an
... when a user updates my app from Play Store, what
Androiddoes in background? Does it uninstall the current version of my app and then install a new version?
No. Once a new version of
apk file has been downloaded from Play Store on a device,
Android (or more precisely
PackageManager) reinstalls it keeping app's data untouched by using, AFAIK, at least
That said, your
SharedPreferences with the user login data will be kept after update.